A Shift in Focus

A lot has happened in the last two months.

I withdrew from my accounting certificate classes back in June because I was really behind due to taking care of Mozzie.

A “W” (withdrawal) looks a heck of a lot better on my transcript than an “F.”

I lost the money too.

That was a very hard and an expensive pill to swallow.

The school wasn’t going to refund my money nor transfer me to the next semester of classes due to a cat emergency.

Believe me, I looked into it.

I also spent the following upcoming three classes’ and textbooks worth of money on Mozzie’s care.

The necessary ultra sound alone cost $600.

So poof, my scholastic goals went up in smoke rather quickly.

To be honest, I was mad at myself for even beginning that goal prior to beginning an even more important goal that could change my life.

Mozzie?

He is purrfectly good now and I do not regret spending any money on helping him.

He has IBS and I give him a pill every other day.

Although neither of us enjoys the process, he is doing well and we are dealing.

The more important goal that could change my life was (and is)….my health.

I knew that I knew that I should have made that my focus before taking accounting classes.

I firmly believe that without your health, you have nothing.

I learned that first hand when I broke my foot, an eye-opening experience for me.

First time I had broken something and became somewhat immobilized.

Yet I put my hopes of excelling at work and finally making six figures ahead of everything else.

Wrong move.

I am administrative.

There are tons of accountants on staff and new ones coming on board with far more knowledge and that have time in than I could ever hope to have…so my health really should have been my first priority.

Now by default, it is.

A blessing in disguise if you will.

As of this last Monday, I started a 90 day fitness program by Jillian Michael AND I have an accountability partner.

We check in daily.

I also signed up for the Hello Fresh food delivery service.

Simple recipes to cook and the food and recipes are delivered to my front doorstep.

I am finally going to learn how to cook!

Hello. Fresh.

I tried this set up once before with Blue Apron.

But the recipes, although really good, were a little bit too fancy for me so it did not last long.

Check out Hello Fresh.

Now this is simple cooking in my book!

 

My last physical with my doc was SO not good.

It was the worst one that I have had in my life to date.

My doctor said – what (the hell, she wanted to say but did not) has changed in the last 3 years????

You went from 115 to 130 to 150 in three years.

Now things really need to change and go the other way.

Beyond my broken foot that took me from 130 to 150, all I could come up with for her was….

Um, my commute and stress and being less physical due to less time and energy.

As she pointed out…I am in control of me.

Not only that, but I am responsible for me.

My health really should be ultra important because without it, um, nothing else matters.

In order to get myself back on track, I realized that I must make the following changes – diet and exercise.

Now.  I have a dedicated accountability partner in place who wants what I want, both for herself, as well as for me.

I really hope that I am only half way done with my time here on earth.

That being the case, it is time that I take my foot out of the grave and begin living life so I can look back one day and say –

I did well, I am happy and holy smack am I hot!

I would not be me without that last comment.

Just sayin’.

hahahaha

My wish – health for all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “A Shift in Focus

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live well and look awesome through personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

