Hot Damn!

I got my Harley back on Tuesday.

Last week, they took my bike to the shop to change out the battery, and to do a state inspection.

Turns out they only had to charge the battery for me, which saved me a lot of money.

The first few months of this year it was cold, and um, I was tired because of tax season, and um, I didn’t ride.

There was one nice spell during those months and my co-worker and his wife came over.  I let him ride it while I ran errands, um because (a) I went through a class with him and saw how he handles riding a motorcycle and (b) I share my toys.

I have another friend who I am going to take to a parking lot and remind him how to operate a motorcycle.  He doesn’t have a motorcycle license, so in a deserted parking lot at the crack of dawn we shall remain.  But I am happy to show him and let him give it a go on my bike.

Anyway, when my co-worker rode it, he charged the battery up right nice.

After that, I would at least go down and turn on the bike and let it run for a while thinking that would give the battery juice.

Um. No. According to the Harley dude, that’s why my battery died…..because I drained it!

I don’t have an electrical outlet in the garage where I park so I can’t keep the battery charged when I am not riding it.

Now to keep it alive and healthy, I need to ride it about 100 miles a week.

No time like the present…..so I took my Harley out for a spin this morning!

Wait it gets better.

After making my second lap of keeping it safe aka not venturing out too far…..I thought – eff it! Ride mama, ride.

And I did.

I zipped all over the place, all up in traffic.  I have never done this before but, the only way to get used to something is to – Just Do It.

I drove around for 45 minutes this morning and I loved every single moment of it!

My day was already complete by 7:30am.  The day cannot get any better than this!

And what a great stress reliever.

I am happy as a lark.

For my visual friends, here’s how my riding will evolve in pictures….

Me: Getting My Morning Rides In!

Me: WOOOOOO HOOOOOOOO!!!!

Me: Catch Me If You Can Sucker!!

Hot Damn!

Oh, Rolling Thunder will be in the DC area at the end of May.

This year I might finally pull off riding on the GW Parkway with all the other motorcycles in town.

#DreamComeTrue

#LongTimeComing

 

6 responses to “Hot Damn!

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

