Victory!  Three Weeks Later.

It has been a looooooong three weeks working on getting my car repaired at no cost to me.

Last post I shared that the oil pan in my S2000 had been damaged because someone used an aftermarket oil plug while performing an oil change on my car.

By doing this, it stripped the original threading and resulted in my car leaking oil.

I have never had an oil leak, and the car is 15 years old, so this really freaked me out.  I don’t like when something it not right with my car.

But when I found out that this problem was due to someone else’s negligence, someone who didn’t have the courage to let me know what had happened, I guess hoping I’d never find out, um, I got pissed.

You mess with my family, my cats or my cars and you are very much going to wish you did not do that.

I don’t go ballistic much, but in those three areas, I will rip you a new one and become your worst nightmare.

To make a long story short, I sent the garage a courier package with a letter that said in essence, you have got to be out of your mind if you think I am going to spend $650 to repair a mistake your garage made.

Well, I really did say that part among other stuff.

I also sent pictures of my home and work parking spaces featuring the oil leak in all of its glory, a repair estimate my normal mechanic (who has been working on my cars since 2000) prepared, along with copies of the receipts of the work they performed and a copy of my attempt to reach them sooner via email that bounced back.

I advised them to fix this, or refund me the cost of the oil change and the $650 needed to repair the damage, or they would be hearing from my lawyer.

Crickets.

Enter said lawyer.

I cannot share the letter he wrote and had FedEx’ed to them because I do not have his permission, but let’s just say, I sure as hell would step up to the plate if I had received that letter.

His letter also stated that all contact of any type going forward should run through him.

Crickets.

On Friday, the lawyer decided to draw up lawsuit paperwork to send over.  I think the paperwork was due to be sent out on Monday.

Friday evening I received a voicemail.  The garage owner asked that I bring my car in on Saturday so we could review and resolve the situation.

They put my car up, we went through the whole drill again about what was wrong and we were getting nowhere.

Then all of my pent-up anger about this whole unfair situation that has plagued me for three very long weeks tricked out and the f-bombs came flying out of my mouth.

I was hopping mad, like I said; one of the three things you do not want to mess with when it comes to me is my cars.

Three hours later, yes I spent three hours at the garage today supervising any and all work done on my car; asking question as they explained every step of the way what they were doing, we resolved (hopefully) the issue…at no cost to me.

They installed a larger oil plug that required creating new threads, which is very tricky and time-consuming.

And, I did eventually sincerely apologize for being rude and mean with my language explaining that my car means a lot to me and it is not fair that costly damage could be done without my knowledge or consent.

Kinda funny, the owner asked me – Do you work on cars?

I was quite knowledgeable and in the mix the whole time.

I said no, but whenever I take my car in and I am on site, I am in the garage under my car with the mechanic to learn everything I can.

And you know, the people who helped me today, I do not think they are responsible.

But I did notice one person who was missing from the scene.

The mechanic who I am pretty sure preformed the oil change on my car that started all of this.

I get vibes about people, those that helped me today, I truly believe they care about the work they do.

That other dude, hm, something about him rubbed me the wrong way from the start and we didn’t even talk.

To me, he was more disengaged and seemed to be there only for a paycheck and not happily so.

Moral of the story.  Do not be afraid to stand up for yourself.  Do not be afraid to ask for help.

I am pretty sure if I had not asked the lawyer for help, I would have had to pay $650 to repair something that was not my fault.

And the lawyer helped me, did not charge me, helped me because he is good and kind, and he does not like when people try to harm others by not taking responsibility.

I am going to buy him a $50 Starbucks gift card to say thank you.

And if he doesn’t drink coffee…he can re-gift the card and become someone else’s hero.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Victory!  Three Weeks Later.

  • Terry

    They messed with the wrong woman , didn’t they ? What they did to your car ( and not telling you ) is like an invasion of privacy , isn’t it ? And they couldn’t be man enough to admit it . If they had been honest and told you they would fix the problem before it became one , you might have remained a customer .
    Excellent job of standing strong . Well done dude !

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

