Listen To Your Heart, Sharpen Your Mind & Pay Attention to Your Body

I was re-inspired to pick up my lifelong learning tendency again.

I’ve been studying audio books again since December 2015, because what else are you supposed to do when you are sitting in 2 hours of daily traffic to and fro work, you know that traffic you are not supposed to be sitting in because that was not part of the hiring agreement .

Sorry I digress, that is a very sore spot for me.

And that was complaining and bitching. hahaha

Anyhow, I have been studying audio book since December 2015.

The topics I have studied include: Inspiration, Spirituality, Health, Fitness, Self-Development, Money and Business.

I have purchased and listened to 47 books.   And some of them I have listened to many times over.

My focus for the last 9 plus months has been on business.

In particular, I have been studying extremely successful WOMEN and really taking heed in what they have to say.

One of the more recent studies was Nice Girls Don’t Get The Corner Office by Lois Frankel.

Boy did she give me a lot to think about.

She totally blew my plans out of the water by making complete sense as to why I will not get to where I want to go on my current path.

In March, I will be turning 46 and I thought I’d be making $100k by that age.

That may sound like a lot of money, unless you live in the DC metro area and you are the sole-provider for your present and future living conditions and you presently rent so your cost of living increase annually.

In my vision, the $100k didn’t necessarily have to come from one source.

I am not lazy and could work on the side doing bookkeeping or so many other things for others.

But with my current job, commute and maybe even industry – that is not possible.

Frankel pointed out that many women earn certificates or degrees while working but cannot move up where they work once they complete their studies because they have been type cast and are only needed for the position they have been hired to fill.

She also shared that the new norm for those who want to move up is to work for a company for three to five years, learn all that you can and do everything you can for them….and move to another company with a higher position.

Gone are the days that you stay somewhere for your working career, unless of course you have made it to the top, then by all means stay and reap what you have sown and enjoy!

I’ve been with my current company, two different times and positions, for a total of five years.

I’ve learned a lot, and I feel like I have given a lot in return.

Now I want more, but not necessarily more in the way of duties.

I keep getting more and new things to do at work and that is awesome!

Slight problem, these additions are on top of what I was already doing.

So.  That is where I am.

My heart says, I want and can do far more.

My mind says, I am open and keep learning.

My body says, girl, you better get me back in shape!  Don’t you know it helps in all areas of life to be fit and attractive?

My broken foot last year and my love for margaritas have totally dorked up my body!

My focus now, due to tax season, is doing the best job possible at work while focusing on body (fitness and health) too.

That is about all I will have time for until all is said and done aka Tax Day Deadline.

And then we shall see what I can do with the rest of 2017.

eleanor

word

brain

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Listen To Your Heart, Sharpen Your Mind & Pay Attention to Your Body

  • Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    I started as a temp at a job at 19, and that company bought my contract out – and so I stayed and learned, but after 3 years, I had learned all I could and there wasn’t room to advance, so I (had a baby, moved to a new city) left that job and started a new one – same industry, but different section. And 3 years later, new management showed up, showed me that there was no way I would advance and then showed me the door… and a new job, same industry – and again, I learned all I could until they couldn’t afford to keep me (commission based and they lost a big line), and another new job, 3 years and tons of knowledge and that has led me here! Top of the field, working from home, using all of that knowledge I gained almost on a daily basis! And I get out and do a lot of training to stay on top of things, and network a lot to keep my contacts open.

    So, I agree, you learn what you can and when you see you aren’t going to advance, find a new spot with new responsibilities and a higher paycheck! You are too valuable to have the kinda days you’ve been having!

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      Your path and climb to the top is very inspiring! Thank you very much for sharing. This weekend I am going to plot out my next leg of the path to the best of my ability, because although I end up with what I want or better in the end, the path doesn’t always go as planned! hahaha But the journey is worth it and I do want bigger and better and more money! Thanks again for taking the time to share your story. ❤

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

