The Crush

Holy wow!  I cannot believe so much time has passed since I last posted.

A lot has happened.

My grandmother passed away, the receptionist resigned to pursue a job more in line with her goals and I pretty much did the work of two people to get the firm I work for through the October 15th tax deadline.

Luckily we did find someone rather quickly to become the new receptionist.  But when you are new, there is only so much you can do.  She did catch onto our phone system quickly, and that was a tremendous help!

All of that led me to unknowingly showing up to sign up for classes two days past the start date, so alas – I am not taking classes right now.  I wasn’t able to join late, even though it was only two days.

But, after all I have been through; this is really not such a bad thing.

Such is life.  The classes will be there on the next start date.

Let’s hope I make it there in time! hahaha

Right now I am struggling with a different decision.

Here’s what woke me up Thursday morning….in my dream I was frantically driving my S2000 trying to find my way home after one hell of a day. I drove between what I thought were two narrow construction barriers. But the space kept narrowing and I discovered I was in between two semi trucks. They inched forward four paces – 1. 2. 3. 4. Each time coming closer together and each pace crushed my car more with me very aware what was happening, but the truck drivers didn’t know. I woke up right before the next pace forward which would have sandwich crushed me and my car completely. Um. So not cool that this is the last thing I dreamed before waking up.

pileup-2-570

I posted my dream and the picture on Facebook and a couple of friends pointed out, um, I think you have too much stress going on in your life right now.

I looked up the meaning of my dream on Google, which I do if a dream sticks with me so vividly.  For me, it makes sense that dreams consolidate and process information gathered.  It is your brain trying to solve something when the fully conscious mind is at rest.

The meanings I found:

The action of crushing anything in your dream indicates that you are under tension and/or pressure in regard to making an important decision.

If you dream that a part of your body is being crushed, then it suggests that you are being prevented to full express yourself.

I think both of these fit my situation.

I love my job.  And I enjoy the people I work with.

But the commuting is crushing my spirit and pretty much making me an asshole when in traffic.  I now have little patience or tolerance for slow drivers, and I really don’t like being so aggressive.

When I signed on to return to working for my current firm, my two must were: return me to my former salary and during non-tax season allow me to come in early and leave early to avoid traffic.  My main pitch was, I don’t want to spend my life in rush hour traffic.

The sad thing is that I only live 12.5 miles from my job, yet I spend 7 – 7.5 hours a week going to and fro.  That is almost an entire work day’s worth of hours spent commuting each week.  That is depressing.

In the end it didn’t work out well for me to come in early and leave early during non-tax season.  My job is kind of really need to be on-site during business hours kind of job.

Even shifting my hours to coming in an hour later and leaving an hour later still has me with the 7 – 7.5 hours a week going to and fro commute.

I have been doing this for 2 and half years.

So this is where I am now…What do I do from here?

I am still trying to figure it out.

Maybe a less disturbing dream will happen tonight to shed some light on my situation.

Something warm and fuzzy…

warmandfuzzydream

 

7 responses to “The Crush

  • Terry Schenck

    Dude ….. I know of two things that
    Can help . Sign up for a gym membership close to work. Books on tape coming home . Please make out the check to : ……. Haaa hope this helps, T

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      Those are really great ideas! I do listen to books on tape, and I have looked into gyms near my work. I can’t afford to join. There are now two (one is new) that would be ideal, but holy cow, who has 75 or 150+ to pay monthly? Not me. 😦 Perhaps traffic would not be as bad if I didn’t drive sticks. Stop and go driving a stick shift vehicle = a lot of work!! Thank you tho for your ideas. I will make the check payable to: Those are GREAT ideas!

  • Terry

    Whoooooah….$150 a month ???? I forgot where you live . Yikes ….forget that idea ….. I totally know what it’s like to drive a manual in heavy traffic around the DC suburbs …….brutal …….even on the weekends . NOW I see your frustration . ….another suggestion . Subway ( the train , not the deli ) haaaaa …..bus ?? ride a bike to work ? ? But just two/ three days out of the week . Friday’s are usually a little better so go in early Friday in your car ……or leave the driving to someone else….. ….I know you LOVE your Honda but ..it may be time to think about automatic trans…..”…the average commute in your area is 45+ min. ….I feel for you .
    T

  • Terry

    Oh …..I DID hit my head…….I have forgotten you don’t work in No Va Anymore ……scratch all my ideas ….We’ll carpool together …..be ready by
    6 am…..split über ……????? Haaaa
    T

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers gain confidence and ease with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

