HD in the House!

I did it.

I finally did it.

I bought a Harley Davidson motorcycle.

It only took me eight years.

What? I like to mull things over.

In late May of 2008, I took the Motorcycle Rider Training Program Course at a community college. I passed and obtain my motorcycle license.

Four years passed. I decided to take the training again prior to buying a bike.

In June of 2012, I took the Motorcycle Rider Training Program Course at Harley Davidson. I passed and again obtain my motorcycle license.

Four years passed.

During that four-year period I did take a private motorcycle refresher lesson to keep my skills fresh.

June 26, 2016 – I finally bought my Harley!

This Baby Is Mine.

Why?

For the last six months I have been studying audio books like mad, cannot get enough.

That is probably because I find myself sitting in a lot of traffic to and fro work five days a week, so I might as well do something useful.

The book that had the most impact recently is The 4-Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferriss.

My job is not mobile so I really cannot use the remote workweek as suggested.  However there is a lot of other useful information throughout the book.

The point that hit home for me was his thoughts on retirement.

We work until we can retire (if we are lucky), but your strongest years have passed in the process.

Strongest in that, when you are most vital, at your peak, you are busy working yourself to death so you can retire.

He suggests mini retirements along the course of your life.

Do some of the things now, along the way that you really, really want to do and experience in your lifetime.

For me, I want to own and ride a motorcycle.  I’ve been at this for 8 years so I don’t think this is a passing fling.

I knew that if I didn’t do it now, I never would. For. Real.

What was I going to do, wait until I retired and couldn’t handle a motorcycle?

God willing, now I have at least 20 years of riding in my future.

I finally took out all of the other factors, like worrying about people worrying about me and instead went with the deep desire that I and I only have – I want a motorcycle.

I don’t want regrets. I want to live and experience things that bring me joy.  Plus you only have one life.

I will work hard, I will work long but there has to be something of value on the other side that makes it all worthwhile.

I’ll share the other books that have been shaping my thought processes soon.

Books that have led me to studying Accounting Fundamentals I and II online, the thought of earning a Bookkeeping Certificate to further my skills at work and perhaps make money on the side, and books that have helped me to increase my 401k savings while paying my bills and buying my motorcycle.

For now, I hope you will look at your own life.

Is there something that you really, really want or need to try now?

It doesn’t have to be big to bring a whole lot of satisfaction and happiness into your life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 responses to “HD in the House!

  • Bobbie

    YEAH GIRL….
    I am proud of you, as always.
    YOBBF

  • Chris

    This is fantastic. I love the matte black color scheme. Also glad you are enjoying it while you can it makes a lot of sense. I try to do similar in terms of enjoying it while you can – starting to set goals for future years. In the past (last year) we started finishing the basement while the kids are still young as we’ll get more use out of it now than we will when they’re older. I of course have my Jeep, which sits idle only because I need to pay to get it fixed. Travel plans are on my goals for the coming years, so going to try and save up for those – domestic and maybe even international. Working from home really has intertwined work and play in terms of flexibility. I’ll have to read that book you mentioned.

    Enjoy your new motorcycle. Stay safe. 🙂

  • Giles Vaden

    This is such a good read! I’m really excited for you. And I admire the line of thinking that led your hog to the door. My few years riding much smaller bikes gave me some of the best hours on the road I’ve ever had. Traveling on two wheels, you’re not driving THROUGH the country. You’re IN it. You Go, girl. You knew you wanted it, you did your research, you did the prep work, and you rode that Harley home. And I won’t be one of the folks who will worry about you. It’s your time!

  • Katie

    Seize the day!! I was thinking this AM about how we wish away the work week for Friday and that leads to wishing away years for retirement. ENJOY!! 8)

Leave a Reply

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

