For The Love of Yellow

Kids love my car almost as much as I love my car.

I think it is because it is so small.  It kinda looks like a matchbox car when next to other vehicles, so I am pretty sure they feel like they could hop in and drive it right then and there without any problems.

Plus it is bright yellow and kinda gives off the vibe – Hello.

Actually adults like it too.

Female, male, young, old – it doesn’t matter.

I’ve spent many a 20 minutes talking to complete strangers because they strike up a conversation about my Honda S2000.

Freedom, fun, cute and happy are commonly used when they are conveying what it must feel like to own and drive such a car.

Closer to home I have an extra special little friend.

One day last fall a guy got on the elevator with me and said – My daughter loves your car. He then proceeded to show me a picture on his iPhone of her hugging it.

Talk about making me happy. He said she hugs my car every day.

I couldn’t help but to think (a) note to self – keep it clean and (b) it is a good thing that doesn’t set off the alarm because that would scare the tar out of her because it is LOUD.

The family parked next to my car whenever possible because she wanted to be close to it.

Then last October I got my yellow jeep wrangler and I park my cars together.

One day, again on the elevator, the dad asked me – Is that your yellow jeep next to your yellow S2000?

I said – Yes.

He then shared – NOW my daughter thinks you are the COOLEST person ever!

I see the family often, and we exchange hellos.

If I am parking my car or jeep and our vehicles pass, the daughter waves to me and I wave back.

But last night, I got the best news so far ever from my friendly family.

The father and his two daughters got on the elevator with me.

He said – You know, we just got a yellow car ourselves.

I said – Really? May I see it?

He got out his iPhone and showed me this –

For The Love of Yellow

That is the best thing ever!  And the blurry little girl, that’s my fan.

It is not a very good picture because I was taking a picture of a picture that was on his iPhone in the elevator and we were rushing because our floor was coming up.

But it totally made my day to think that my car and jeep inspired this little girl to go out and get her own little yellow car.

I think I fell asleep last night with the biggest smile on my face because it really made my day.

Life is funny like that.  When you least expect it, you receive a lovely little surprise that makes your day totally great.

And connecting with others, over something as simple as a car, priceless.

 

 

10 responses to “For The Love of Yellow

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

