My Bummed Foot. I’ll Take It!

Last Tuesday I ushered in my birthday in a setting that I haven’t been in since my actual birth day, in the presence of a doctor.

I seem to have dorked up my foot.

This is my foot the night before my birthday…

Exhibit A: The Foot

The Foot

My foot got that big both Sunday and Monday night because I was working and it is tax season, which means I have to move around to get stuff done.

I cried myself to sleep both of those nights because it hurt so badly. So badly that at times I seriously thought my foot would explode.

The previous Friday I had gone to my regular doctor and she sent me to the hospital to have x-rays done.

Nothing was found so she told me to rest, ice it, elevate it, and stay off it as much as I could. She also told me to come back in a week if it hadn’t gotten any better.

Fast forward two days later, Sunday night, Exhibit A above, and I would say that things were going downhill fast.

First thing Monday morning I found and made an appointment with a podiatrist. The earliest they could see me was first thing Tuesday morning (aka my birthday).

I went and they did x-rays too. The doctor couldn’t find anything either so he sent me to get an MRI. Although he couldn’t find anything, he saw my foot in all of its glory and knew something was wrong.

They wrapped my foot in a soft cast and ace bandages and put a huge boot on it (which I am still wearing to this day and might have to for the next TWO MONTHS).

Exhibit B: The Boot

The Boot

Tuesday, my birthday, which I keep saying because it is so not fair this was all going down on my birthday, the only good thing about that day was that I was required to stay home and rest.

I had the MRI done Wednesday morning. It showed that I have a break running left to right in my 3rd metatarsal. Check out the diagram.

Exhibit C: The Foot Diagram

foot_bones_dorsal3

Now. I have never broken anything. And this is slight versus a broken arm or leg or something.

But let me tell you. It still is uncomfortable and really gets in the way of business as usual.

No FitBit challenges. Difficulty driving. Walking funny and dorking up my hip(s) alignment.

And let’s not even talk about how long it takes me to shower or how I have to do yoga in the shower trying to keep my leg dry just to get clean.

It has only been a week and I am done.

Yesterday at work I was having a smoke. Taking a break for a sec. Thinking about how much this sucked and how badly I wanted to be back to normal.

I saw a couple walking into a restaurant.

The man had one of his legs amputated above the knee and was walking with hand crutches.

In that moment in time I told God – I am good. I’ll take me bummed foot and work with it!

So no more complaining for me.

Currently I am inconvenienced.

But this is not permanent.

And for that I am TRULY grateful.

9 responses to “My Bummed Foot. I’ll Take It!

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers gain confidence and ease with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

