They Have An App For That!

Yesterday was a very sad, sad day for me.

I was FitBitless.

I had officially finally lost my FitBit.

And I was on a roll too in my FitBit group weekly challenge!

I was in the lead and had been pretty active since Sunday – 5 miles, 6 miles, 7 miles, 5 miles and then Thursday – zip, zilch, nada, and so sad lady go home.

Losing a FitBit is like losing a helpful and challenging friend, so, so disappointing.

It happened to two friends of mine this past year, but it could never happen to me.

Or so I thought.

Yesterday I felt naked. No FitBit to wear, my first day since June 22, 2015 going commando.

I was going to share that statement with someone yesterday and then thought better of it, saying naked in front of someone you don’t know all that well is, um, awkward.

But we are all friends here so – naked, naked, and NAKED! hahaha

I am only in a good mood because I found my FitBit safe and sound this morning.

And I only found it safe and sound and sooner because one of my FitBit group friends said – Hey, they have an app for that.

I learned something extremely important from this experience.

It is such a GREAT idea to have younger friends.

I was all prepared to buy a new FitBit.

So guess what I found out?

There really is an app out there to find lost FitBits!

In fact, there are several.

I googled (because Google is my very bested friend in the whole wide world, after my FitBit and iPods) – What app will help me find my lost FitBit?

I found two, both of which had 5 star ratings.

Really first I found one, paid $4.99 for it and began combing my house following a beep beep beeping signal on my phone.

It was a lot like a game of Hot or Cold.

You are hot (getting closer), hot, HOOOOT – totally cold and way off base lady.

My cats were following me around as I was following around my phone with its beep, beep, beeping.

After about 30 minutes and tearing up my house at the slightest of beeps I was getting frustrated (understatement).

Now I knew the FitBit was in my house from the get go, so that made it even more frustrating (again, very understated).

When I am in bed and falling asleep and realize that I still have it on and am too lazy to get up and put it in my purse (so my cat Mozzie doesn’t eat it), I take it off and tuck it under my pillow.

I turned over couches, shook the tar out of every blanket I could find, looked under every piece of furniture in case Mozzie had indeed found it and dragged it off somewhere and I still came up empty.

I became angry and found myself thinking – Those 5 star raters are LIARS!!!

I sat back down at my computer and hit up my pal Google again to help me find another app.

This was the apps last chance. If this didn’t work I was going to buy a new FitBit!

The second app again had 5 star ratings, and even better, it was free.

I was going to be so pissed off if this free app found my FitBit and the one I paid cold hard cash for didn’t.

The first app had me focused on my living room, that’s where I feel asleep when I lost it.

But the second app was fonder of my bedroom.

The second app didn’t beep; it had a signal bar to indicate when you were close. The more bars you saw the closer you were.

Another round of Hot or Cold ensued.

This time I tore my bed apart, shaking out blankets, tossing pillows everywhere and nothing. Rats (understatement). Empty handed again!

But then I got a brilliant idea to toggle between the two apps, using them both and TAA DAA – I found my FitBit!!

I had tucked my FitBit INTO my pillow case.

I don’t remember doing that. I usually tuck it UNDER my pillow.

I would have found my FitBit this weekend when I did the laundry, but $5 and one less day FitBitless was worth it.

So long story short, it took me an hour and it was quite frustrating (by this point, so understated that it is mind-boggling) BUT I did not waste the $5 I spent on the first app and my friend saved me from spending $100!

All in all, it has been a pretty good morning.

Oh, and I am in second place FitBit group weekly challenge wise so I still have a chance to win by the end of today even with having logged zip, zilch, nada, and so sad lady go home steps yesterday!

Who’s your mama?

Me.

And they have an app for that!

MetroUI-Apps-Mac-App-Store-icon

4 responses to “They Have An App For That!

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

