Online Dating. Yikes. Here I Come.

Monday morning I did something I never thought I would do.

For years, five to be precise, a handful close to me have tried to encourage me to try online dating.

Nope not for me.

Well Monday morning I decided to give a go.

That’s a pretty big deal in my world.

But I am trying to change things up, do things differently, explore and say yes to life more.

First off, I will never be able to be facebook friends with anyone I may meet on this online dating journey, nor tell them about my blog because I’ll be sharing the journey with you and I am pretty sure that might not be so cool in their eyes. hahahaha

But seriously, I won't speak about specific gents, just my side of experiences.

When you set up your profile (and mine is not complete yet) you begin by adding a picture and writing something about yourself.

This is my initial pic –

profile

I copy and pasted my about me page from my blog and answered five questions.

I can’t remember any of the questions except the first one.

Are you ok with someone being messy?

Hell no!

The last step was to pick three profile pictures to gauge the type of guys you find attractive.

There were guys ages 26 to 66 or there about.

I am not going to lie; a lot of those 30 something year old dudes caught my eye.

But alas I stayed within my age range; I didn’t want to come across as a creeper.

I didn’t realize the profile pictures I was looking at were real, but good news, one of the dudes I liked liked me back.

Now I have to go back and fill out the rest of my profile because they don’t know…like how tall I am, or what I am looking for, or my horoscope sign and so forth. hahahaha

But what is really cool, a dude I liked based solely on his picture turned out to be is 49, drives a Harley, drives a jeep (I think according to the pic), rock climbs, doesn’t have children, and oh yeah, he’s hot.

I am not saying we would mesh, but I find it intriguing that there are good-looking dudes out there with similar interests as me that had I not gotten out of my comfort zone and tried online dating, I potentially would never meet.

In 24 hours I have received 141 likes (that’s better than anything I have ever gotten on facebook!!!! hahahaha) and 18 messages.

Now 90% of those will probably do nothing for me, but it still makes a gal feel good after being out of the game for so long.

Oh, and now I REALLY have incentive to get my body back in tip-top shape as soon as possible!! hahahaha

The moral of the story…don’t poo poo what you have never tried BUT only try it if and when you are ready.

I’m ready.

 

7 responses to “Online Dating. Yikes. Here I Come.

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

