When Walking Just Isn’t Cutting It

I started using my FitBit on June 22nd of this year.

I still love it and use it daily!

Check it out.

Week 1 – 20.74 miles

Week 2 – 22.08 miles

Week 3 – 36.56 miles

Week 4 – 32.02 miles

Week 5 – 20.99 miles

Week 6 – 30.62 miles

Week 7 – 22.06 miles

Week 8 – 42.60 miles

Week 9 – 41.81 miles

Week 10 – 30.41 miles

Week 11 -28.13 miles

Week 12 – 24.54 miles

Week 13 – 22.46 miles

Week 14 – 13.61 miles

Week 15 – 25.59 miles

Week 16 – 30.82 miles

Week 17 – 27.74 miles

Week 18 – 23.62 miles

Week 19 – 17.97 miles

Week 20 – 20.21 miles

Week 21 – 22.72 miles

If you notice, my mileage dramatically increased in week 8 to 42.60 miles.

That’s when I starting doing the Work Week hustle challenge with friends to see who could walk the farthest during the work week.

I won the challenge that week and I have been doing that challenge every week since then.

But guess what?

It is official.

I am overweight.

I mean like for real, my BMI says so.

I have never in my life seen the words Lisa and Overweight used in the same sentence.

But last night I saw it on my computer staring back at me and thought ~ Well crap, now it is official!

I already knew and have known that my weight is going the wrong way, but to see *overweight* in print, YIKES.

I am five foot tall according to my doctor’s office.

My healthy weight range is 100 – 115 ibs.

Since junior high school I have always fallen in between 100 and 108.

Only in recent years did I get to 115 ibs, and felt like it was the end of the world.

Facebook has this little thing where it shows you your memories on some days.

Well since 2011 I have complained about getting to 115 ibs and then I get it back down and then getting to 115 and then….you get the picture.

I now realize I would gladly, I mean oh so happily, take 115 ibs!

What the hell rover, I now weigh 138.8 ibs.

Holy smackadoodle!

And it cannot go up from here. It just cannot.

I know this might not be a big deal to others, but to me, when you have been a certain way most of your life and then within a year you manage to put on at least 25 ibs, wow it is life changing.

And not in a good way.

I never thought I could be here.

I mean I never thought it was possible.

Seriously.

Never ever.

But I am, so I have got to work with it.

I signed up for a marathon.

I joined a Ladies Running Group.

I met with them once so far.

I subscribed to Runner’s World so I will get a magazine in the mail every month, and I will feel pretty darn bad if I am not doing anything when I get said magazine in the mail monthly.

They even threw in a calendar and I will look at that every month next year.

Gaining weight and feeling bad about yourself is a vicious cycle.

You want to make changes, you start to make changes, you get discouraged by looking at where you are now and how far you have to go, and then you respond by doing something that isn’t going to help you on your new path but brings you comfort in the moment.

Until the next morning.

I am not good at solo hard training.

I need a group.

Even if it is just a one other person group.

The group I joined has a challenge going on the side similar to The Biggest Loser that runs for the next 14 weeks and we will be incorporating small changes into our life every week that I am pretty excited about.

It is a start.

And hopefully in 14 weeks this count will be lower….

11.14.15 Weigh In 138.8 Ibs

 

2 responses to “When Walking Just Isn’t Cutting It

  • Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    You’re only 5′?!? I really thought you were like 5’8″ or something!! I’m actually 5’6″ and thought you were taller than me! 🙂 I think I’d like a running club, but I do love the freedom of getting out of the house on my schedule but the buddy system helps, but then I’d have to talk to people! LOL

    But you know what does sound good? The magazine!! I may have to look into that! 🙂 And you got this Lisa, you can do it!

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      Many thanks my friend! You made me laugh out loud with how tall you thought I was. hahahaha I used to get to say I was 5’1″ and then my doctor’s office took that away at my last physical. hahaha Get the magazine, then we’ll have stories to share. 🙂

      And again, thank you. I really do appreciate your encouraging words. 😉

Leave a Reply

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

