I Just Paid $40 for a 6-Pack of Coke!

One of the drawbacks of being single is that you have to fend for yourself when you don’t feel well.

Guess what?

I don’t feel well, and there is no one around to wait on me hand and foot.

Really I only want a Coke.

I don’t get sick that often and I have only called in sick twice in the last year and three months.

Today would be that second time.

I brought it on myself.

Saturday morning I drove down to the Outer Banks with the top down on my Jeep.

It was already down, and I hadn’t tried putting it back up by myself yet, plus I was running late so I just threw on a heavy sweatshirt thinking that would cut it.

Um. No.

I froze my butt off for FIVE hours.

I honestly don’t remember ever being that cold and it was so deep in my bones that when I finally did make it to my mom and step-father’s place, I took a nap totally clothed with two blankets on top of me (and I was still chilly!).

I left at 9am Saturday morning.

It was supposed to get up into the upper 60’s so I thought for sure I wouldn’t be too cold for long.

I was wrong.

I took a nap, went to dinner with them and then promptly went back to sleep for the next nine hours.

I felt really bad. My step-father is a very active guy, and he had planned so many different things we could do – fishing in the ocean, fishing in the sound, walking, bike riding, canoeing, etc.

He even got me a temporary fishing license, hoping that I would want to go fishing because he’s an avid fisherman. (I don’t like fishing because I don’t like seeing the poor little fish with hooks in their mouths.)

Sunday morning I got up early, as did my step-father, and we figured out how to put the top back up on the Jeep. There was no way I was driving back with it down!

He also showed me lots of other stuff about my Jeep, because they have one, so I learned a lot much faster than had I been left to my own devices (aka I only learn stuff about my car when it becomes a need).

I went to Starbucks and then to the beach for a little me time.

In my mind, I was going to sit on the beach for a little while and watch and listen to the waves crash.

The beach is a really nice place to be in the morning before all the people come out, it is so peaceful and awe-inspiring.

Well because of recent hurricanes and storms, there isn’t much beach left!

At least not at the public access that I chose to enter, and what sand was left was wet and not conducive to sitting around and relaxing on.

So I watch some surfers from a deck, took a couple of pics, and then headed home.

When I got home, my step-father and I went for a bike ride.

I always say that I don’t like bike riding but I found out that I was wrong, which is a good thing because we rode around sight seeing for 8 miles.

I was pretty impressed with myself and thought, wow, I really could do a triathlon.

I don’t know that I could physically do one, or that I would be willing to train that hard in three areas for one, but biking is no longer off the table.

That bike ride was about the only time I felt well during my trip, and I told him, it was worth coming down just to do this.

We had lunch, I grabbed a shower, kissed them goodbye and headed over to my OBXFF, who also happens to be their backyard neighbor.

I only stayed 30 minutes, but boy were those 30 minutes packed with happiness and excitement.

My friend is 77 and she is gearing up for our next adventure!

When she turned 70, we went parasailing so we could both check that off of our bucket lists.

Now she wants to try zip lining, and I am all for it because I have never done that before either!

I drove home, went to bed, felt poorly this morning, called in sick, ate breakfast and went back to sleep until 4:30pm.

Here we are at 6:30pm and I just happily paid a delivery guy $40 for a six-pack of Coke.

Oh and some food, but really, I just wanted the Coke.

The moral of the story is be sure to get a boyfriend before you become sick.

No really, the moral of the story is don’t be a dumbass and drove five hours in 50 degree weather with the top down on your vehicle!!

The true moral of the story is, always have Coke on hand because you never know what life will throw you.

coke_classic_6pack_can

6 responses to “I Just Paid $40 for a 6-Pack of Coke!

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

