Hello 43 Turning 44

This morning I woke up and said – Happy Birthday.

And then I said – ooooooow!

Can we say effin’ sore?

Yes we can, and we just did!

I am going to need to soak in a hot bath before I go into work.

Yes I said go into work on a Sunday, and on a Sunday which also happens to be my birthday.

Having yesterday off was such a wonderful gift!

What did I do with my first day off in a while?

I drove down to Richmond and did a 10k. No biggie. hahaha

It is something that I like to do with a great friend I have known since 1994.

Wow, that’s 21 years.

WOW, that REALLY sucks!

Not the 21-year-old friendship, no, I am talking about the 21 years that have passed!!!!! Damn.

Any who, back to the positive news.

I have done the Ukrops 10k with her 3 times. This was the first time we stuck together because neither of us had the time of day to train.

She is usually a good 5-7 minutes faster than me.  But she is also younger than me and I smoke….hey, I am just trying to find reason to make my ego feel better.

Anyway, here is what I have managed to pull off in the past with a I just wanna complete this as best as I can but I am not competitive nor will I kill myself trying to get across the finish line mentality:

2011 – Age 40 – 1 hr 15 min 53 sec

2012 – Age 41 – 1 hr 15 min 46 sec

And yesterday, in the extreme bitter cold (I think that was one of the coldest races I have ever done and I must say – I AM NOT A FAN!!!):

2015 – one day shy of 44 – 1 hr 22 min 55 sec

It took me 7 minutes longer this year with z-e-r-o training.

Well I did get on the treadmill once, which obviously didn’t help much! hahaha

I also have been working 7 days a week for the last 3 ½ to 4 weeks, and many of those days have been 12 to 13 hours…..so, I am cutting this old lady some slack even if you don’t, and again I am just trying to soothe my ego.

Here are my stats from yesterday and they are pretty damn decent for a non-training, hard-working, had to drive 2hrs to get there old bird like me….

Overall Results

Time: 1:22:55

Place: 17730

Finishers: 26401

Age Group Results

Group: 43

Place: 893

Finishers: 1691

Gender Results

Gender: F

Place: 9424

Finishers: 16029

Happy Birthday to ME!

Today I am 44, and I cannot walk. At least not normally.

And next year……I am going to do the 10k in 1 hr and 10 min and be skipping down the road afterwards!!

Mark. My. Words.

2015 Ukrops 10k

10k Medal

 

4 responses to “Hello 43 Turning 44

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

