Tuesday, February 24th

Tuesday, February 24th, 2014, my little man Caesar unexpectedly passed away.

I came home from work, noticed that he was having trouble breathing and rushed him to the vet.

They took x-rays and the experience scared him so badly that they had to put him on oxygen to keep him breathing.

I rushed him across town to an emergency vet hospital and four hours after arriving home from work, what I thought was a normal day, my little man was gone.

That was one of the worse days of my life.

Tuesday, February 24th, 2015, my guardian who cared for me during my high school and college years will be laid to rest.

She was a wonderful and giving woman, and she was strong, both physically and mentally.

She had a garden that she loved so much, flowers and vegetables galore.

And when I say garden, I really mean a small farm out back that she took care of all by herself, by choice.

She was 50 years older than me, and even back in high school, she could out last me physically and stamina wise.

I remember thinking ~ I want to be like her when I get older ~ full of life, strong, capable with an ‘I do it myself and not going to have it any other way’ mentality.

She lived in her own home with her niece until about a year or so ago, and then she moved in with her daughter.

She outlived her brother and sister by many years, both of which lived on the same street as her, they were two of her three neighbors.

She was a very resilient woman.

I was there for her when her husband passed away. She had cared for him many years after he had a stroke, so when he passed away it was very life changing for her.

And she was there for me when my step-mother passed away, a very life changing event for me too.

I think that is when we bonded most, because both deaths happened around the same time.

She lived to be 94, which is pretty awesome in my book.

I am very sad that she is gone, and I am very disappointed that I didn’t make it down one last time to see her.

Over the last couple of years I have had a couple of challenging changes going on in my life as well, and the opportunity to see her again unknowingly slipped by.

She gave me one of the best compliments ever, her gift to me.

She told my grandmother, and both she and my mom remind me of it often, especially when I need a lift.

She said ~ If someone cannot get along with Lisa, well then, there is something wrong with them.

I have only been to a few funerals. I can count them on half of one hand.

It is going to be very hard to see this strong woman lying there lifeless, and me not being able to talk with her one last time.

Tuesday, February 24th, 2015 is going to be an emotional day.

I hope Tuesday, February 24th, 2016 will bring a different kind of life affirming gift.

Please don’t take today or tomorrow for granted.

I know I won’t.

1

 

2 responses to “Tuesday, February 24th

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers gain confidence and ease with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

