Day 19 – I’d Like an Order of Healthy Excitement Please

Have you ever been thinking about all of the little things you need to change up in your life to make it work a little bit better for you?

I have.

And I am like damn, I want to do it all, but where do I start?

I did a 30 day fitness challenge last month with some friends, and I did all 30 days.

First time ever.

Then I started another one this month with the same friends and a few new ones, but I got a little bit too ambitious and we were doing three 30 days fitness challenges at once.

I know, someone should have said, No this is not happening, but no one complained loud enough so on our way we went.

It is Day 19 and I have missed a few days.

The grand total of things completed by me in the last 18 days is this:

Sit Ups – 400

Crunches – 355

Leg Raises – 225

Plank – 302 seconds

Upright Rows – 515

Lateral Raises – 273

Shoulder Press – 450

Rotations/ Sides – 325

Push-Ups – 174

Dips – 268

Bicep Curls – 450

Punches – 370 seconds

Yoga – 1 hour

Cardio – 3 hours

But I am losing motivation because I am not seeing any results after my 48 days (this and last month’s fitness challenge) of getting physical.

I’ve still got the same 15 pounds to lose.

So then I starting thinking….why?

I came up with, um, I need more cardio.

I also really looked at what I eat, and although I don’t eat much junk food or fast food, I do have a whole lot of carbs going on in my world.

I heart carbs.

Rice, pasta, the whiter the better.

Cheese, don’t even get me started.

And then there is sugar….Jose (margaritas) and mocha fraps.

I have managed to cut back on the both of those, much to my surprise.

But it got me thinking, I seriously need an overhaul in what I eat.

What I am doing right now, it is all about habits.

I love healthy well-balanced meals; I just don’t know how to make them.

Then that got me to thinking, wow, I never read anymore. I mean like read a book.

I used to be such an avid reader. I was always reading something.

Now, I am wasting my time watching TV.

And I am only watching repeat shows just to pass the time; I don’t even following any programs that I “must” see.

Then that got me to thinking, I really should sleep in my bed.

More times than I would like to admit, I fall asleep on my couch because the TV is in my living room, and I know my body would prefer sleeping in my nice comfy bed.

And that is when I am like….holy cow, there are so many little things that have become a norm in my life out of sheer habit, and not necessarily enjoyment, that it would really make me happier and healthier if I changed some of this stuff up.

But where to start?

Well, first things first, my three 30 day fitness challenges, I am backing that up to only one so I can add more cardio and yoga into my daily life.

That is one habit that I would like to continue to develop, doing something, anything fitness related daily.

I also whipped out my book The Accidental Athlete: A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Middle Age by John “The Penguin” Bingham so I can reread it, as well as fire up my old habit of reading again.

And lastly, I am going to cook up a couple of new things over the weekend for my upcoming week.

It is time to add a little bit more healthy excitement back into my life.

healthy_body

6 responses to “Day 19 – I’d Like an Order of Healthy Excitement Please

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

