The Queen of Awkwardness

Yesterday was full of awkward moments for me.

First thing in the morning I met up with a former Starbucks peep.

She and her husband were on my turf which threw me, and it had been over two years since I had last seen her because she changed stores prior to me relocating.

They were waiting to meet with a real estate agent that works next door.

I came out to use the bathroom and taa daa there she was.

She introduced me to her husband, all the while calling me Miss Lisa and sharing how she still remembers how to make my drink….and for the life of me, the whole time, I could not remember her name!

I went to the bathroom, wracking my brain, come on brain, what is her name, I know it is in here and BOOM, I remembered it and was so excited.

Luckily they were still waiting when I came out.

I snapped my fingers, pointed at her and said her name.

Followed by, I bet you thought I forgot your name and were like, psssht, I remembered her name and her drink and she can’t even remember my name!  I told her, it has been over two years and it takes my brain a minute to remember.

All ended well and everyone was happy and felt remembered.

Later in the day, a dude that works for another firm that I have been friendly with over the years caught me off guard again.

This time I was coming up from the parking garage and he pulled up alongside of me in his SUV and rolled down the window.

I thought we were going to have our normal pleasantries, but this time, maybe because we were semi away from the office, he went in to full compliment mode.

Compliment after compliment, which I tried my best to return, but mine were more general and awkward and not directed at him because the whole time I was like, uh oh, he’s going to ask me out and I am not attracted to him like that, I just happen to be a really friendly person.

Perhaps he had false hope because I did actually remember his name and addressed him as such when I first saw him again after being gone for over a year.

His last comment did me in, something to the effect of, You know, I have always had the hots for you.

I didn’t know what to do with that so without thinking I laughing said, I know, and walked away….which my friends opens up a whole other can of awkwardness when we meet up next.

All I can say is, Thank God today is a half day!

And I am not stepping foot out of my office until it is time to go home!! hahaha

All hail The Queen of Awkwardness.

59642a2f77a14f216e37bde8a109a69b

 

6 responses to “The Queen of Awkwardness

  • Kate @ Did That Just Happen?

    Okay, I can’t stop giggling! That car encounter was beyond awkward – and pretty hysterical from my side of the fence!

    You need to move closer! We’d have so much fun getting coffee and doing yoga. Except you go do your yoga and I’ll stick to my YouTube videos (But, I have found Dr. Melissa West and Namaste Yoga pod cast and I must say that she does yoga I can understand and I’m loving it and being the yoga person I want to be and I’ve done it 2 weeks in a row – even on my “rest” days because I’ve loved it so much!)

    whew, I need a breath now!

    Happy Friday!

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      WOW, good for YOU!!!! You’ve done yoga circles around me!!!! Damn. Now I need to get with it!!! hahaha

      And I agree, we would have great fun if we were closer!

      And yes, laugh it up, it was beyond awkward and I will have to see him again.

  • Chris

    Awe you have a boyfriend, lol. 😉

    I hate awkwardness. The other day I went to a luncheon where a retired football player gave a talk. Afterwards I bought an autographed copy of his book. But there’s always that awkward banter while you’re waiting for the person to sign the book. The book was a gift and I’m to that into football, so it was just an awkward conversation, with a really super nice guy.

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      Dude, your first comment made me bust out laughing when I first saw it. Thanks for the laugh!

      Don’t ya just hate it when there is the ole awkward conversation with nice people? Thanks for sharing your experience, now I don’t feel so alone and awkward. hahaha

  • Terry Schenck

    hey what’s your name ….. didn’t we go to different high schools together ???
    ( this line will get you out of many awkward traffic jams miss lisa ) 😉

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

