In Search of My 30 Day Challenge

Wow, what a difference a week can make.

Last weekend I was recovering from the stress of finishing up my last two weeks at my old job.

I was also recovering from the previous weekend’s physically intensive Aerial Yoga training that coincided with my period, on top of the stress of giving my notice and making sure things were in order before leaving.

I also spent last weekend hoping that I had made the right decision with the job change, especially because of the change in my commute.

Well I am happy to report, all signs point the fact that I did indeed make the right choice for me!

I am very happy with where I am.  I love that the office is in a large building with other people to interact with from other companies.  So far I have only had to sit in a little bit of traffic on my way home a few days.  And I enjoy what I am doing and will be busy for quite some time getting things the way my new bosses would like for them to be.

At this rate, I should be busy through the end of the year, and then tax season will hit. hahaha

But there is one thing that has been on my mind for the last few weeks as well.

I need to get back in shape.

One of the yoga places that I am connected with lo and behold is having a 30 day yoga challenge that begins mid-August!

That’s what got me thinking and in search of my 30 day challenge.

I was thinking about doing it, BUT not all of the class times are ideal for me with my new getting up at 4am schedule, plus it takes a little bit of effort on my part to get to that studio.

Now it would behoove me to do yoga 30 days in a row and then some because I begin my yoga teacher training on September 27th.

That’s only nine weeks away.  Yikes!

However, in 8 weeks I have the Mudderella coming up.

Why on earth I signed up for that I’ll never know!

I love obstacle courses.  I enjoyed the Spartan race I did.

The mud part.  Not so much.

And since it is called Mudderella, you can bet there is going to be some freaking mud!!!!

Mudderella 1

Mudderella 2

But what is done is done, so I need to prepare.

And that’s what got me to thinking about taking a different course of action….I need a personal trainer.

I pass a rec center on my way home every day.

I did my lifeguard training there, and worked as a volunteer with the Adapted Aquatic Program for children with Autism, which I really enjoyed and might look into doing again.

So that is what I am leaning towards, the rec center and getting a personal trainer to help me put together a workout program for a 30 day period, as well as to work me out at least once a week during that period.

I can do yoga on my own, take a class here and there, and with any luck attend an acro yoga event that is coming up mid-September.

But gyms, I know squat about and it would be nice to have someone there guiding my steps and making me sweat.

I am only able to consider hiring a personal trainer because there will be a small overlap in my paychecks due to the transition, so I figure I should invest it in myself.

I have never done a 30 day fitness challenge before, and I know myself well enough to know that if I don’t have some kind of partner in this, I am doomed to fail.

I am just not that driven (yet).

On the yoga front, to keep myself grounded in that too, check out the two teachers who trained me in the Aerial Yoga workshop and the Acro Yoga workshop.

Now they are dedicated, have bodies to die for and are strong, beautiful and powerful!

I aspire to be like these chicks….as soon as I get on the other side of my Mudderella and getting back in shape phase. hahaha

Kelly 1

Kelly 2

yoga-pose-peacock-pose-8046-2

Jessica 1

Jessica 2

Jessica 3

4 responses to “In Search of My 30 Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers gain confidence and ease with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

