Don’t Be a Victim. Make Some Noise.

Ok. There are some pretty freaky people out there. And when possible, you need to stand up for yourself.

Especially if you are a woman.

This morning I had an odd experience.

I was on my porch having a smoke.

Right after my walk.

I know, I am working on it!

And this guy was walking on the path below and unzipped his pants.

At first I wasn’t sure that I was seeing things correctly.

Then my face got a little red, and then I waited to see what he was going to do.

See, it is pretty secluded out there and I was 95% sure he didn’t realize I was out on my porch.

He was dressed nicely for work, and he was tucking in his shirt.

Why he was doing it while out for a walk, I don’t know.

Once he realized I was out there, he kinda maneuvered himself to a place that was out of my sight and then later (which seemed like forever) turned and walked back the way he came.

Now I was preparing what I was going to say if he jumped out and flashed me.

On the tip of my tongue was, Can you wait right there for a minute while I go in and call the police? I would have probably cussed too.

I am glad I didn’t have to.

The experience was a bit unnerving and so not the way to start a day.

It reminded me of two other incidents that happened to women that I cared about.

Once I was driving with a friend on 395 and a dude pulled up next to us and was doing things that he should not have been doing.

I didn’t know until my friend yelled out, and I about wrecked because I thought he had pulled out a gun or something.

But then I got pissed and followed him rather quickly and closely until he speedily exited the highway.

I wanted to scare him, and I wasn’t thinking, or I would have gotten his license plate number and called it in.

And then once it happen to another person that I know in an office bathroom.

I went to the office building management daily reminding them ~ you better act on installing that lock for accessing the ladies bathroom like yesterday until it was done.

Being a female can be hard sometimes.

And if anything that is freaky and uncool happens around or to you, make some noise, a whole lot of noise, because it is not ok and should not be tolerated.

 

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

