To Strangle, Or Not To Strangle?

Four years ago, I made the decision to switch career fields and start over.

I was living with my sister and her family at the time, so I was able to make the switch that cut my salary in half and my ego in fourths.

By the end of this year, if I don’t strangle anyone, I might just pull off hitting my goal of regaining what I once made, as well as gaining solid experience in the field of bookkeeping/accounting with a whole lot of hello office manager all up in the mix.

Now the reason money is so important to me is because I am single and I pay for everything.

That and I happen to like money, and being paid well for the work I do.

When I first came on board where I work now, there was a three-month probation period with a review on the other side.

Prior to that meeting, I managed to get my employers to pick up 100% of my health insurance tab, versus 60%, based on my job performance.

At the three-month review meeting they shared how they liked the work that I did, really didn’t have any complaints and asked if I had any questions for them.

I only had one.

What do I need to do to make more money?

Hello unexpected question, brief deer in the headlights moment flash before my eyes, as I patiently waited for….you just tell me what I have to do and I am in.

One boss quickly jumped in, You just keep working as hard as you do and we will review your salary at the end of tax season.  We’ll have another meeting and go from there.

The other boss agreed and chimed in, I agree.  In fact, after tax season, I think we should do that every three-month!  Then he got a little worried for a moment and added, Not the salary increase every three months, but the meeting with you every three months!

And these magic words are the only thing keeping me from…..

Well let’s just say recently I left work teary eyed.

It only happened once.  And I didn’t cry until I was in my car.  But it happened.

(A) Because I am female.

(B)  Because it was that time of the month.

(C)  Because I want that damn carrot hanging on the other side of…if I can just do a million things at once and still be all cute and nice about it I am golden!!

So TGIF.

This weekend I am going to work on a vision board.

Something I can see daily to keep me on track.

I am going to create a collage of pictures to inspire me to remain focused on getting fit, doing things that make me happy, and making more money while enjoying the process.

And just for kicks and giggles, I am going to add these throughout to keep me balanced and lighthearted!

MjAxMy0xOTM5MjgxNGY1ZWI0MzA4

5d1c18aaf62564be8f7682a1f56b4b47cd

MjAxMy03MTMwNTVhYzUyMTllM2Mx

2 responses to “To Strangle, Or Not To Strangle?

Leave a Reply

Messy Mapmaker

Searching Through the Pile of To-Do Lists to See What's Coming Next

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

