Twenty Nine Years Ago On a Planet Far, Far Away

I was at the grocery store recently and an older gentleman came over and asked if the jar he was holding was olive oil.

To which I said, Um. Yes.

He replied graciously, Thank you so much.  I don’t have my glasses with me.

Insert visual….

When I Laugh, You Laugh, We Laugh fb

His glasses were seated right there on his upper forehead.

I kept a straight face and didn’t say anything.  But maybe I should have come to think of it, if he was operating a motor vehicle and all.

I hope he made it home safely.

The next day I was leaving Starbucks, honk2 and an older gentleman driving a Mercedes was laying on the horn.

Not only did he get my attention, everybody and their brother were looking over in his direction as if to say, Hey, you talking to me?

Horn still blaring nonstop, and when I say blaring I mean hard-core not letting up loudest horn you have ever heard, he began to back up.

So I chalked it up to he just wanted to make sure people knew he was backing up so they wouldn’t hit him.

Old Man Driving

I glanced over and noticed that his wife looked extremely mortified.

Why?

Because I do believe his horn was malfunctioning.

Why?

Because it continued to blare as he drove forward, and out of the parking lot, and down the hill, and through the light onto the main road…..and yes, I could still hear him a mile away.

Funniest thing ever!

Of course that is because it wasn’t happening to me.

But I did have my own senior moment this week.

This totally sucks since I am still in my forties, and very early forties at that I have you know.

Every Monday my boss comes down to look over the sports section of the paper and asks me, did you catch the game(s) this weekend?

Remember when I said that I am not very good at lying?

Well I lied.

This past Monday I got tired of telling the truth so I said, You know it!  I am all over it!

To which he replied, No you didn’t!

He was half hopefully there for a minute, but I caved and once again shared that sports were not my forte by design.

We got to talking, and he told me blah, blah, blah.

And then I exclaimed rather proud of myself, Hey, is that the team with the Refrigerator?!

I stumped him.

The refrigerator?

Yeah, you know, they all sing and dance and I remember there was this one dude they call The Refrigerator, The Fridge.

Guess what?

Courtesy of Wikipedia:  “The Super Bowl Shuffle” is a rap song performed by players of the Chicago Bears football team during 1985. It was released 3 months prior to their win in Super Bowl XX, peaking at No. 41 in February, 1986 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.[2]

I am sorry, did you catch that…1985!!!

I am going to talk smack and the only thing I can come up with is a random fact from 1985?!

He was like, I am pretty sure what you are thinking of happened at least twenty years ago.

I said, In that case, you have absolutely nothing to worry about when it comes to your company and me handling the money and paying the bills since my brain can recall things from as far back as 1985.   I’ve SO got this!

1985.  Twenty nine years ago. Wow.

Although I have twenty-nine to forty-two and a half years of knowledge stored in this little brain of mine, I still couldn’t remember the name of the song until it came to mind out of the blue as I was leaving for the day….The Super Bowl Shuffle!

super-bowl-shuffle

Check it out ~ Chicago Bears Super Bowl Shuffle Rap Song

Of course, the snap shot I hold in my brain looks so much cooler!!

So I am going to go back to what I know best, because senior moments are for the birds…..

Sound of not caring

8 responses to “Twenty Nine Years Ago On a Planet Far, Far Away

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers gain confidence and ease with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

