“A Jewish Comic and a Muslim Researcher Walk into a Party…”

And found me.

Or rather, I found them.

I heard an exceptional story on NPR’s “All Things Considered” one night while driving home from work (click here to hear about the unlikely relationship between a Jewish comic and a very serious Muslim analyst).

Me listening to NPR is akin to…..well, there is nothing to compare it to because we are in new territory here.

And there for a while it was iffy whether or not I was gonna stick around.

I mean you can only listen to so much about the government shut down (while it was going on) and the whole health care roll out (then and since) before you are like….Holy Crap, what the hell do politicians really do?  What a bunch of…..

Before I show you any more of my ignorance, let’s get back to the story at hand.

Earlier this year, before everything went south, my sister shared some wise words with me…

Find Your Happy Place.   Just know who you are, and that you’re a happy and upbeat kind of person.  Circumstances, like your job, provide you with what you need in that moment.  You haven’t wasted your time; you’ve just re-established yourself with tenure.  It’s time to move on.  No harm, no foul.  Be happy!  That’s who you are! 

Well let’s just say I have been looking for my happy place (within me) for months now, and I am starting to see the light at the end of what has been a very long tunnel.

Laughter, and humor, and light heartedness really are balms for the soul.

So I was pleasantly surprised when I came across the program that I mentioned above on my drive home from work.

I was smiling and laughing and truly impressed.

The Muslim analyst is a very confident and well spoken speaker.

However you also get to experience her softer and unsure side, just like the rest of us would have when stepping outside of our comfort zone in any area, as she learned to incorporate comedy into her speech.

That’s what I found so endearing and real.  And it made me want to be friends with this happy and fun Jewish comic too.

Seeing as how that is not likely to happen, I did check out her website (www.judycarter.com) and may purchase one of her books or cds.

Now, I don’t want to be a standup comic, nor do I want to be a public speaker.

I just want to find my happy place and be able to share it with others.

Please check out the clip.  It is a great human interest story that we can all relate to, plus it most likely will make you smile.

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin | mind body soul stylist

Helping self improvement seekers live WELL and look AWESOME with personal style, holistic fitness, and mindful living.

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

