Skype(ing) 101

2013 has been quite a year for me.

That should not be mistaken for a woo hoo, bring it on, let’s do it again, totally rocking quite a year for me either.

We all have those type of years sprinkled throughout our lifetime, and on the other side, it can help us in some way.

Or so I have been told.

When I get on the other side of said years, I am usually faced with learning or trying something new.

And for me, it gets rather old always having to try something new because that means that I still don’t have my life going the way I want it to be going!!!

Sometimes things outside of our control can cause enormous change(s) in our lives.

For me, my sister and her family moved to California this summer because my bro-in-law got a promotion.

And for the record, I am still mad at him for being so smart and ambitious.

Now I know many if not most siblings routinely, and some gladly, live miles and miles and miles apart.

But me and my sis, well, there have only been a handful of years that we haven’t lived within close proximity of each other.

I am 42, she is 40.

Um, the whole moving to CA, well that is a big ass change when you factor in how many years we’ve been near and dear (most of the time).

And I must admit, there is no way around it, this is not a happy big ass change in my book.

But seeing as how she will not ditch her husband who she is rather fond of after many, many years of marriage, because I did offer up that solution, we are going to have to find another way to work with this situation.

That is where, oh goodie, I am going to learn how to use skype comes into play.

I even offered it up myself.

Which for those who know me, know that I am rarely (read: never) the first in line when it comes to learning yet another new technology thingy no matter how easy it may be because it forces me outside of my comfort zone, which is still decades behind the average 10-year-old in this area.

I have accepted that I will forever be old school no matter how many new things I learn because I show up to these kinds of parties late, and only when circumstances force my hand.

My sister is my best friend.

And she told me that my little two-year old nephew often walks around with his play cell phone saying, “Shhh.  It’s Lisa” as he takes the pretend call.

Well guess what?  This old bird is going to learn how to use this thing you call skype, and I promise it won’t be begrudgingly either.

I want to see the people I love, and I’ll admit, I am going to work in subliminal messages to my bro-in-law so that he will see the error of his ways and move back home.

To be honest, I still can’t talk to my sister without crying.

So my big debut on skype should go over really well.

Good thing I am not vain when it comes to matters of the heart.

I just hope they can make out what I am saying, or else they all might want to revert to using my little nephew’s fake cell phone for any future calls with “Shhh.  It’s Lisa.”

4 responses to “Skype(ing) 101

  • Terry Schenck

    How many people can say their sister is their best friend …..very endearing ……..I know it’s hard….Skype will have to do ….it’ll make seeing her in person that much more special 🙂

    • Saving My Belly Button Ring

      My sister is lucky, she’s got 2 best friends – me and her husband. I am pretty sure that should read her husband and me, but I was in the picture first! haha And then add in her children and she has so got me beat. I am currently hiring additional best friends, would you like to apply? 🙂 Seriously, thanks. And I can’t wait to see her in person.

  • Inna

    Hi Lisa,

    I saw that you are writing your blogs again. I am really happy to see this. I hope you are doing great and welcome to Skype :).
    Inna

Leave a Reply

plankful

Wellness, Support and Mindset

TwoTireTirade

Keeping the faith of fanatics who feel fired up for anything motorcycles. It’s all about the journey and the philosophy of riding on two wheels. Let’s bring alive the truly unique culture of motorcycling and never let the ride leave the fibers of our being.

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Smirking Cat!

My place to rant, rave, and otherwise make observations. Like it? Stay. Don't? You know what to do.

nine apple trees

making our home

leave it to Joy

DIY it, knit it, sew it, cook it, and opinion on it

naptimethoughts

livin' the dream.

Real Woman's Health

The Journey to Wellness

elysha lenkin: mind body soul stylist

Inspiring people to get holistically fit by creating a life of practice for the mind, body and soul

Did That Just Happen Blog

Sometimes even I can't explain my life!

50 Things Before I Turn 50

No resolutions, just changes

Stride and Joy

An Aussie in Boston learns to run. And tries not to fall down.

